Query to Identify Records with Different Values in Specific Field

Hantzisp

I need some help. I'm really new to SQL. I’m not sure what I'm missing here and why this isn’t working.

Background:

I have 2 tables related by an “ID_Key”. Each table contains an ExpDt field which represents an expiration date. These expiration dates may be different between these two tables. A record may not even exist on Table 2. Table 1 has the correct information. Database relationship has been set to Table1.ID_Key to Table2.ID_Key.

Query Objective:

I need the query display only the records that have different data in the “ExpDt” field.

Here’s the SQL code I’ve tried so far:

Code:
SELECT Table1.Last_Name, Table1.First_Name, Table1.ExpDt, Table2.ExpDt
FROM Table1 LEFT JOIN Table2 ON Table1.ID_Key = Table2.ID_Key
WHERE Table1.ExpDt<>Table2.ExpDt;

When I run this, the query results excludes records from Table2 that do not have a matching ID_Key with Table1 but lists all remaining records regardless if the ExpDt matches or not. Have I got the SQL code wrong? Or, maybe I created the relationship incorrectly?

Excel Facts

Copy PDF to Excel
Select data in PDF. Paste to Microsoft Word. Copy from Word and paste to Excel.
Try this:
Code:
SELECT Table1.Last_Name, Table1.First_Name, Table1.ExpDt, Table2.ExpDt
FROM Table1 LEFT JOIN Table2 ON Table1.ID_Key = Table2.ID_Key
WHERE [COLOR=#ff0000]NZ(Table1.ExpDt,1)<>NZ(Table2.ExpDt,2)[/COLOR];

Upvote 0
No luck, sir. I get the same result. It's showing all records even if the Table1.ExpDt & Table2.ExpDt match. I don't know if this makes a difference or not, but those field data types are set as "Short Text" because they are in "mm/yyyy" format. So Access doesn't know the ExpDt represents a date. I cannot change the data type either. When I try changing data type to anything other than Short Text, I get an "Operation is not supported for this type of object." message.

Last edited:
Upvote 0