Filtered Query not staying filtered when brought into another query?

Maggie Barr

Board Regular
Hello and thank you in advance if you can help,
I am using Excel 2019 on a PC. I am still quite new to Access, so I would appreciate any guidance to resolve this issue I am having, and I will apologize in advance if any of my explanation is confusing. I have a database that is 1,115,1867 records and I use that as my base for my queries for analyses (Base Data Output). After applying a series of criteria in one query (All valid records), I get the file down to all the "valid" records (100,873 records). I then would like to bring those records over as a filter to another query on the same base file so that I can exclude the records that were valid and have a base file to investigate multiple tests on "Invalid" data. When I bring the valid query in, and bring in a field I created "Valid", it applies that to all of the records (1,115,1867), not just the ones that were there in the final query for valid records (100,873).
I hope this is making some sense.
Thank you for your help,
Maggie

Excel Facts

Can you sort left to right?
To sort left-to-right, use the Sort dialog box. Click Options. Choose "Sort left to right"
Solved.
Well, for some reason when I brought in the field I had created in the valid records query to point to "VALID" records in hopes to filter on that, it would apply "VALID" to the whole record set instead of just the valid records, but if I brought in the Global Unique Identifier, the ID for the records, it would populate the cells according to only those that remained after the filter in that query. Then I could filter in the criteria for that column using Is Null, and it removed the records from my "Invalid" query. Not sure why it was doing what it was using the field I created, but I found a work around that worked.