DMin function on an Access 2016 form to find lowest value in multiple controls

theYaniac

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
I am very new to Access and I am trying to figure out of I can use the DMin function to return the lowest value found in several text boxes at once. I am building a simple database for tracking stock and option trades. The tracker form will be filled out manually for scalable entries into positions, ex. Contract entry 1 $1.08, Contract Entry 2 $1.27, Contract Entry 3 is $1.47. I would also like to have a text box on the form that would auto populate based on the lowest contract price found in one of the 3 text boxes with the contract prices. Not sure if this can be done with the expression builder or if I will need to do this with VBA. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Excel Facts

Enter current date or time
Ctrl+: enters current time. Ctrl+; enters current date. Use Ctrl+: Ctrl+; Enter for current date & time.
If the database was normalised, each of those would be a separate record, so DMin would work.

Best I can think of is to just compare (as there are only 3).
Compare 1 & 2 to get a variable set, then compare 3 with that variable.?

HTH

Upvote 0
You will never have a 4th (or more) contract price for an item? If maybe, your design isn't correct (may not be correct even if the answer is 'never').

Since you are using currency values, something like (use something other than a button click event if you'd rather).
Private Sub Command17_Click()
MaxValue
End Sub

Code:
Function MaxValue() As Currency

MaxValue = Nz(Me.Text8, 0)
If Me.Text10 > MaxValue Then MaxValue = Me.Text10
If Me.Text13 > MaxValue Then MaxValue = Me.Text13

Me.Text15 = MaxValue

End Function
If there were many more than just 3, there are other ways. Also, if your fields are not currency, won't work as written, and it is pretty basic as is. Obviously, use your own control names.