Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Append table with another table and user input

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    32
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Append table with another table and user input

    Hello guys,

    I have an issue which I assume is very simple yet I can't seem to figure it out. (Just started learning Access a few weeks ago)

    I have a table called Table1 with the following columns:
    ID (autogenerated) SUB Month Total Comments
    1 GOP 1901 500 Payment
    2 GAP 1901 600 Payment

    And the second Table2 with the following columns:

    AutoNumber(Autogenerated) ID CustomerID Amount Name


    So what I want is to append the data from Table 1 to Table 2 but only specific columns :

    ID---> ID
    Total---> Amount

    and the rest to be inputted by the user, so:

    CustomerID---> Inputted by user
    Name---> Inputted by user

    The kick is that there will be many rows to be appended but the CustomerID and Name should be the same input for all rows.

    So the end result would look like this:

    AutoNumber(Autogenerated) ID CustomerID Amount Name
    1 1 123456 500 John
    1 1 123456 600 John

    And this process is to be repeated every month, so ideally there would be a way to only append for the selected month e.g. 1901. Or is there a way to append everything but ignore duplicates which would be easier maybe?

    Thanks a lot!
    Last edited by Vbanoob98; Oct 14th, 2019 at 03:40 PM. Reason: format

  2. #2
    MrExcel MVP
    Moderator
    xenou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Clev. OH, USA
    Posts
    16,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Append table with another table and user input

    The raw sql you need is this:

    Code:
    insert into Table2 (ID, CustomerID, Amount, [Name])
    select 
    	Table1.ID, 
    	123456 as CustomerID, 
    	Table1.Total as Amount, 
    	'John' as Name
    from Table1
    The same code can be written for user input with parameters:
    Code:
    Parameters [Enter CustomerID] Long, [Enter Name] Text ( 255 );
    insert into Table2 (ID, CustomerID, Amount, [Name])
    select 
    	Table1.ID, 
    	[Enter CustomerID] as CustomerID, 
    	Table1.Total as Amount, 
    	[Enter Name] as [Name]
    from Table1
    It's probably horrible to let users run batch processes with inputs though - the eventuality of user error is unavoidable. At minimum you will probably need to use a form to guide the user during the process with textboxes to hold the input values.

    Using: Office 2010/Win7 (work) Office 2010/Win7 (home)

    You are rich in proportion to the number of things you can let alone.
    -- Henry David Thoreau

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    32
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Append table with another table and user input

    Thank you! I will test this tomorrow

    Also how could I make it so that I can run the code based on a Month variable? Or do you have any pointer on where to look for the answer?
    Last edited by Vbanoob98; Oct 14th, 2019 at 05:15 PM.

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    32
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Append table with another table and user input

    When running the Sql object I get an error of "Couldn't not find file \\user\account\Data.mdb

    Whats that about? :s

  5. #5
    MrExcel MVP
    Moderator
    xenou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Clev. OH, USA
    Posts
    16,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Re: Append table with another table and user input

    to use a variable to filter results add a where clause:
    Code:
    Parameters [Enter CustomerID] Long, [Enter Name] Text ( 255 ), [Enter Month] Text ( 255 );
    insert into Table2 (ID, CustomerID, Amount, [Name])
    select 
    	Table1.ID, 
    	[Enter CustomerID] as CustomerID, 
    	Table1.Total as Amount, 
    	[Enter Name] as [Name]
    from Table1
    where Table1.[Month] = [Enter Month]
    I don't know what you mean by a sql object. I assumed you are running the query as an Access query - that looks like you are using some other means to run queries.

    Using: Office 2010/Win7 (work) Office 2010/Win7 (home)

    You are rich in proportion to the number of things you can let alone.
    -- Henry David Thoreau

Some videos you may like

User Tag List

Tags for this Thread

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •