Drop Down List in Access?

samantham

Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
I'm new to using Access, and have a question.

I am designing a database for the nonprofit organization where I work. This database is going to be used to track pretty much everyone associated with the organization... employees, interns, volunteers, donors, clients, former clients, vendors... you name, I'm going to track it. Well, I hope to at any rate!

Is there a way to set it up so that there is a drop down box to select the relationship type, so that I don't have to keep typing how they are associated with the organization?

Is a form going to be what I need to do this? I don't think it is, but that is the only thing I can find in my book (MS Office Access 2007 In Business - Comprehensive division).

I'm currently taking a computer in business course (degree requirement) and asked my professor, and he said he didn't know, and that he'd get back to me. Well, that was 3 weeks ago, and he still hasn't gotten back to me (hasn't graded the homework we turned in back in September either - but thats a different story).

Thanks for any help you can possibly give!

Excel Facts

Whats the difference between CONCAT and CONCATENATE?
The newer CONCAT function can reference a range of cells. =CONCATENATE(A1,A2,A3,A4,A5) becomes =CONCAT(A1:A5)
1. you should be thinking about getting your money back for the course :)

2. Yes, you need a form, always do your data-entry in a form and not directly in a table. Access is a relational database system, meaning that data is spread out over related tables. One entity may have attributes that are distributed over many tables and the best way to control the integrity of the data is through the use of a form.

hth,
Giacomo

Upvote 0
Hi,

I assume you are using table to maintenance your data and want to have a dropdown in the field place to select the predefined values for that field.