Creating a sequential inquiry number (not Autonumber)

GopherUK

Hi folks,

I am creating a new database for a client and I need a method to create an incrementing number for the number of the enquiry in the form of XX0001 etc.

I am not really sure to start with this as I have never done anything like this before. Am I best to use a domain function to count the current number of inquiries in the DB and have this automatically create the sequential number when the new record is saved?

Thanks in advance,

Gopher.

Excel Facts

What is the shortcut key for Format Selection?
Ctrl+1 (the number one) will open the Format dialog for whatever is selected.
This is how I would do this.
Basics, having a table (tInquiry) with fields InquiryID (long) and InquiryNumb (string).

Field InquiryID is just for doing the math, so it could be a hidden field on your form.
Supposing you have a command button on your form, the next code generates a new InquiryID which then is used to compose the InquiryNumb. And yes, after reading this, it should have been more logical to have the ID being the string value and the number being the number, but ok.

Code:
Private Sub cmd_SaveRec_Click()
Const sAlphaPrefix As String = "XX"
Const sNumbPrefix As String = "0000"
Const sTableName As String = "tInquiry"
Const sNumFldName As String = "InquiryID"
Dim lInqID As Long
With Me
    'Test if record is not yet numbered
    If Nz(Me.InquiryID.Value, "NoVal") = "NoVal" Then
        lInqID = Nz(DMax(sNumFldName, sTableName), 0) + 1
    Else
        lInqID = Me.InquiryID
    End If

.InquiryID = lInqID
    .InquiryNumb = sAlphaPrefix & Right(sNumbPrefix & lInqID, 4)
End With
End Sub

Upvote 0
BTW I assume the number basically cant be displayed in the form until the record is saved as if the number is created when there are multiple users, it might attempt to input the same number twice? I think that is fairly obvious but I just wanted to clarify.

Upvote 0