Access Importing External Data Question

Synestar

Hello All,

Let me be forthcoming and let you know I am an Access Novice. But work is requesting that I learn how to use this software inside and out. Also I am using Access 2007 for now but there are plans to upgrade to 2010 within the year.

From the little I have learned I can see so many applications for this. But I want to start with something that I think is so simple but I can't seem to get it to work.

Situation:
We receive multiple reports from different vendors in the form of Excel worksheets. They have the same names for the column headers, but they are in a different order depending on the vendor. Also some vendors added in extra columns for more data that I do not need. I am trying to simplify the import process as right now we have someone cutting and pasting into a new excel sheet and then importing into Access. Is there a way to get Access to import the data based on the column headers?

Also there is something else that annoyed me when I was testing things out. I created a database for something else and set my datatype for a specific column as Text since the data in that column sometimes includes text and numbers. I got errors when importing later reports because the first row had a number and Access seems to have changed the datatype for that column to Number and the later rows of data with Text did not import. Is there a way to permanently set this field as Text?

Thank you in advance!

Excel Facts

Can a formula spear through sheets?
Use =SUM(January:December!E7) to sum E7 on all of the sheets from January through December
Or if someone could direct me to a book or website that doesn't just give me the Basics. That might help a bit too. I did some searching but only found the same things over and over.

Upvote 0

Forum statistics

Threads
Members
Latest member
Guest1337

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.