A solution to convert Decimal to Hex

absherzad

Hi all,
I am new to Power Query, I needed to convert Decimal to Hex, here is my solution using recursive approach.
It is working like a charm, however, I have no idea if it is an optimal solution. So, comments are appreciated:

Code:
(input as number, optional string as nullable text) => 
let
	inputString = if string = null then "" else string,
	reminder = Number.Mod(input, 16),

helperString = if reminder > 9 then
            List.First(List.Select({ {10, "A"}, {11, "B"}, {12, "C"}, {13, "D"}, {14, "E"}, {15, "F"} }, each _{0} = reminder)){1} & "," & inputString
        else
            Text.From(reminder) & "," & inputString,

quotient = Number.IntegerDivide(input, 16),

finalResult = if quotient > 0 then
		@fxNumberToHex(quotient, helperString)
		else List.Accumulate(Text.Split(helperString, ","), "", (state, current) => Text.From(state) & Text.From(current) & "")
in
	finalResult

Excel Facts

Format cells as time
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+2 to format cells as time. (Shift 2 is the @ sign).
Yes in Microsoft Excel, VBA, Java and other programming languages it is relatively easy and straight-forward. But I wanted to try that in Power Query because I had to for some reason. Therefore, I came across the solution I posted. I wanted to share with others as well as to receive others feedback for its improvement.

Upvote 0
Some time ago I created the function below, that will convert a number to any base string (binary, octal, hexadecimal, base 32, base 64) or a string to a number, given a base (16 for hexadecimal).
It uses lists instead of recursion.
In case of converting a number to a base, a minimum output length can be supplied.
The function includes full documentation. Results look good to me, but I can't give any guarantees.
Code:
let 
    Documentation =
    [Documentation.Category =    "Custom Function",