Not sure if I can achieve this with PowerPivot any insights welcome

Mr Excelinator

Hello all.

I'll explain what I'm trying to do, I'm unsure if I can achieve this with Power Pivot, I'm fairly new to PPvt & gotten to grip with the basics.

So my source data looks like the below, which is many 000s of rows, formatted as a table & is in my data model.
Data SourcePerson IDValue AValue BValue C
FY16 1012345650100150
FY17 1112345675125175
FY17 11654321100150200

<tbody>
</tbody>

What I want to do with it is generate a report something akin to the below:

Data Source:FY17 11FY16 10FY17 11FY17 11
Person IDValue AValue AValue B

<tbody>
</tbody>

So I am creating a report where the main population will be selected from data source eg FY1711 and I can compare the Value data sets, by their data source, like the above, so A vs A, A vs B etc cut by the Data Source.

If anyone has any advice on how to achieve this (power pivot or otherwise) be greatly appreciated.

Cheers.
Stu.

Excel Facts

Repeat Last Command
Pressing F4 adds dollar signs when editing a formula. When not editing, F4 repeats last command.
I suggest you unpivot the last 3 columns into an attribute and value column.

Source, person, attribute, value
Fy17 11,123456,Value A, 50
etc

Use Power Query for that. This will give you a table of Data that can be used in a pivot table to build anything you need.

Upvote 0
Thank you Matt I see the real value in unpivot & creating attribute & value column. As sais I'm fairly new into this but really liking what I See.

The bit I am struggling with after that, is how to in effect create a 'selective' report, using a pivot table to get me what I need, which cherry picks the attribute variants I want to compare,