Duplicates error when linking two tables on Power Pivot

stevenk331

Hi. My apologies for asking a question that seems to get asked frequently. However, I was not able to figure out a solution from the previous posts, and I have not been able to find a video on the Mr. Excel or ExcelisFun youtube pages that go over "Duplicates" errors in Power Pivot. I am hoping someone can help me with this issue. I am relatively new to using Power Pivot so I have a number of things I cannot figure out. My situation is as follows, my problem will become clear once you understand the situation. Sorry for the long explanation, but I don't know how else to explain it.

I am combining data from 3 sources/tables to create a Pivot Table I can use to create journal entries I can upload to an accounting system for one of my clients (I do their bookkeeping). Normally, I would just journal the entries one-by-one manually, but in this particular case, my client has HUNDREDS of transactions and it would take a significant amount of time vs 20-30 minutes by the method I am trying. The first table is a lookup table of account numbers and client names. The second table is an Excel spreadsheet from the primary vendor which I converted to a table with details on all the transactions with my client. The third is a comma delimited file from the bank with all the transactions. The purpose of the first, the client name lookup table, is because the vendor spreadsheet only shows the "client #", and I need to include the name of the client for my accounting purposes in the journal entries to identify them easier later if I need to find a specific transaction for a specific client of the company in the accounting system. I had no problem linking the first two in Power Pivot, and I had no problem creating data models for all 3 and getting them into Power Pivot.