Visual needs to show months by year month not Jan thru Dec

Tcurtis

Board Regular
I am pretty new to PowerBi and am having some difficulty understanding how to make my chart show a run as a running year and not Jan thru Dec. The month I am reporting on starts with the previous month and I need my chart to show May thru April and not January thru December. Some of my months are this year and some are last year. How can I arrange my months so they show this way?

Excel Facts

Back into an answer in Excel
Use Data, What-If Analysis, Goal Seek to find the correct input cell value to reach a desired result
I'm not sure if you need a custom calendar or just appropriately sorted columns in your existing calendar.

First, the assumption is that you have a separate table identified as a calendar table with consecutive dates and related to your fact table by the date. Then you can add custom columns to the calendar table - here are some common columns I add to my calendar tables.

Code:
    InsertedDay = Table.AddColumn(ExpandHoliday, "Day", each Date.Day([Date]), type number),
    InsertedMonth = Table.AddColumn(InsertedDay, "Month", each Date.Month([Date]), type number),
    InsertedYear = Table.AddColumn(InsertedMonth, "Year", each Date.Year([Date]), type number),
    InsertedDoW = Table.AddColumn(InsertedYear, "DayofWeek", each Date.DayOfWeek([Date]), type number),
    InsertedQuarter = Table.AddColumn(InsertedDoW, "Quarter", each Number.ToText(Date.Year([Date])) & " Q" & Number.ToText(Date.QuarterOfYear([Date]))),
    InsertedMonthName = Table.AddColumn(InsertedQuarter, "MonthName", each Date.ToText([Date],"MMM"), type text),
    InsertedMonthYearName = Table.AddColumn(InsertedMonthName, "MonthYrName", each Date.ToText([Date],"MMM") & " " & Text.End(Number.ToText(Date.Year([Date])),2)),
    InsertedDayName = Table.AddColumn(InsertedMonthYearName, "DayName", each Date.ToText([Date],"ddd"), type text),