PowerPivot - Searching Between Tables

ShaunP

Hi All, I'm new to PowerPivot and running into an issue with searching between 2 tables. I setup 2 tables in PowerPivot and created a relationship between them. I am trying to count the number of instances a user shows up in a specific column. The column may contain several users within the cell. I have tried a few equations and I am not having any luck. I appreciate any help you may provide.

I created the following:

Users Table
User Name
George
Paul
Mary
Oscar
Peter

<tbody>
</tbody>

Projects Table

ProjectTeam LeadTeamMembers
1GeorgePaul; Mary; Peter
2PaulOscar
3GeorgeMary; Paul

<tbody>
</tbody>

I created a relationship between Users [User Name] and Projects [Team Lead]. I am able to count the number of instances a User shows up in the Team Lead column.

I tried the following code to count the rows in the Projects table that contain "Paul" in the Team Member List but the result is blank.

Code:
=CALCULATE(COUNTROWS(Projects),filter(Projects, Projects[TeamMembers]="Paul"))

I used the following code just to see if I can find Paul in the Team Members column but I get an error stating column TeamMembers in table Project cannot be determined in the current context

Code:
=if(ISERROR(search("Paul",Projects[TeamMembers],1)),1,0)

Excel Facts

What is the fastest way to copy a formula?
If A2:A50000 contain data. Enter a formula in B2. Select B2. Double-click the Fill Handle and Excel will shoot the formula down to B50000.
Does this do what you want?