Many-to-many Relationship Error

tsolis13

Hello all.

I am new to Power Pivot and am taking my first stab at it by uploading multiple data sets that show net revenue received for each company. I am having a difficult time creating a relationship between the net revenue columns for each data set. Instead, I receive an error saying "Net Amount is a many-to-many relationship which is not currently supported." What is the most efficient way I can get around this error?

Thanks!

Excel Facts

Did you know Excel offers Filter by Selection?
Add the AutoFilter icon to the Quick Access Toolbar. Select a cell containing Apple, click AutoFilter, and you will get all rows with Apple
You would need to normalize your data. Example:

Man <<--->> Woman

becomes

Man <-->>Partner<<-->Woman

Thus: many-to-many must be organized as 2 x one-to-many relations.

Upvote 0
Thank for your reply, unfortunately I am not quite sure as to how to go about normalizing the data efficiently.

Upvote 0
Hi tsolis,

Can you explain why you want to create a relationship between Net Revenue columns?

Typically when relating multiple tables, the relationships are made between qualitative properties (e.g. Names, Locations, Dates) instead of quantitative properties like Net Revenue.

For your scenario, the relationship would more likely be between Company Names that two or more tables have in common. Since the data tables you are trying to link probably have multiple listings of the same Company, a Lookup Table of unique Company Names is often employed. The lookup table has a one to many relationship with each table it supports.

When you relate a table of data for 2017 sales to the company lookup, and a table of data for 2016 sales to the company lookup, you can build a model that allow comparing or aggregating the information in the two tables.

Upvote 0