PowerPivot: "COUNTIF" for same row, same table?

DerekK

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 2003 or older
Platform
  1. Windows
Good day,

I thought this would be easy but I'm having a devil of a time, I hope someone can please help!

I've tried writing this in a table; within PowerPivot; and as a measure but nothing seems to elicit what I'm after. (I'm new to PowerPivot, so I may be overlooking something obvious.) I'm working with Excel 2016, if that helps.

So, I have a column that lists "Region" (text) and I need to have a column that counts the number of times each region appears in the entire column. In a normal Excel spreadsheet, I might enter a formula like the following and copy it down:

Code:
=COUNTIF($C$1:$C$100,C1)

I've tried CALCULATE and COUNTROWS with a filter but it doesn't look quite right because it comes out with something like "[Region]=[Region]" and it elicits a figure which would be COUNTROWS without any filters.

(I'm actually looking for something to put into a Pivot Table's "Rows" section, so the final formula would be something like):

Code:
=C1 & " (" & COUNTIF($C$1:$C$100,C1) & " users)"

Hope you can help!

Sincerely,

Derek

Excel Facts

Why does 9 mean SUM in SUBTOTAL?
It is because Sum is the 9th alphabetically in Average, Count, CountA, Max, Min, Product, StDev.S, StDev.P, Sum, VAR.S, VAR.P.
based on what you are describing you just need to add a measure: = COUNTROWS(YourTableName)

then drop the Region in the rows of the pivot table and this measure as values

Upvote 0
Thank you for your reply, VBA Geek.

That would, indeed, give me the figures I need but, ultimately, I want to have a chart whose axis label would be something like this:

Code:
=C1 & " (" & COUNTIF($C$1:$C$100,C1) & " users)"

Upvote 0
Do you mean you want a pivot table like this?

umirvVG.png

Mf0TNib.png

Last edited:
Upvote 0