PowerPivot formula to calculate the number of active projects given start and end dates

ChrisTW

I'm new to much of this, so please bear with me. . . I'm trying create a count of active projects by week using projects' start and end dates. I've created a COUNTIFS formula in an Excel worksheet table that works, but I would prefer the calculated column reside in my Data Model/PowerPivot. This should be relatively simple, but being the complete novice that I am, I can't seem to come up with a "DAX" version of the formula. I've tried using COUNT/CALCULATE/FILTER, but I can't seem to get the syntax right. Hoping someone can help!! Thanks!

This is what I came up with in the Excel table:

Code:
=COUNTIFS([@[Start Date]],"<="&[@[End of Week]],[@[End Date]],">="&[@[End of Week]])

This is the sample data I've been working with to test my options - The "Weekly Count" column is where my Excel formula currently resides:

Project NameStart DateEnd DateEnd of WeekWeekly Count
Project112/1/20173/1/201812/2/20171
Project212/4/20173/4/201812/9/20171
Project312/16/20173/16/201812/16/20171
Project412/18/20173/18/201812/23/20171
Project512/20/20173/20/201812/23/20171
Project612/21/20173/21/201812/23/20171

<colgroup><col><col><col><col><col></colgroup><tbody>
</tbody>

Excel Facts

Enter current date or time
Ctrl+: enters current time. Ctrl+; enters current date. Use Ctrl+: Ctrl+; Enter for current date & time.
When you do a pivot, you can add acalculated fiel in Analyse tab. You can name it Weekly count and use a formula
Code:
=countifs('Start Date',"<="&'End of Week','End Date',">="&'End of Week')
. There is an option to add pivot to databodel when you make one, so I guess the field would (I don't have power pivot to test )

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Thanks for responding! I may be missing something, but I'm not getting how this would work since "Countifs" can't be used in PowerPivot.