Expression error when add column/invoke custom function...can't convert the value

cravenmc

[FONT=&quot]I successfully created a workbook that had a combined sheet (that contained 7 other workbooks) that successfully used several formulas/functions to get 5 Fiscal Years totals and then produced slicers. I wanted a way to allow the 7 managers to update their individual workbooks an then automate the combining of the data with the added formulas/functions. I am new to data model and power bi but I've made great progress until I try to add a column using the successfully created custom function. I will get to the stuff in the power bi first and at the bottom of this post I'll show what I have working in just excel without the automation of the combined files.

I created a custom function to get the Year part of a date and then use that custom function inside of another more complex function. Both functions create successfully but when I try to add column, invoke custom function it gives me [/FONT]

[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]An error occurred in the ‘FYR1’ query. Expression.Error: We cannot convert the value #date(2019, 7, 1) to type Function.
Details:
Value=7/1/2019
Type=Type[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]I'm new to this M language but I have had experience in programming. Your help is appreciated![/FONT]
[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Here is the complex function[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]let FYR1 = (CYR,UpgradeRpDate,CurrentMaint,UpgradeCost) => if CYR([UpgradeRpDate])="TRUE" then [CurrentMaint]+[UpgradeCost] else [CurrentMaint]
in FYR1

[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]worksheet to take the provided current year maintenance cost of equipment along with the next year maintenance cost to produce the projected cost for the next five years. I used 4 of the 10 provided columns (2,3,9,10) below. Here is a simple example to follow:[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]