Adding only the latest data to existing table

piannetta

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi, I am relatively new to Power Query in Excel, I am really enjoying it though and can't believe I didn't pick up on years ago. Anyway, that aside, I've built a number of spreadsheets with a number of queries within each that automate a lot of my reporting and tracking activities.

The queries are built to get all data for date greater than a specified starting date within the query. What I'm finding though is that as each day passes, it's taking longer and longer to run these queries. Ideally, what I'd like to be able to do is build them in such a way as it just queries the data for yesterday (for instance) and just add that to the existing table that contains all the previous historical data. In doing this, it should take a fraction of the time to refresh each morning.

I'm just not sure how best to do this. I did look up "Append" queries but on the face of it, that doesn't seem to be what I'm after.

Any guidance or pointing in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Pete

Excel Facts

Add Bullets to Range
Select range. Press Ctrl+1. On Number tab, choose Custom. Type Alt+7 then space then @ sign (using 7 on numeric keypad)
Wow, I didn't think this was going to be such a challenging problem, I'm guessing by the lack of replies that what I'm asking isn't possible using Power Query in Excel...

Upvote 0
any chance for a sample of two sources ("yesterday" and "today") with few representative rows and expected result?

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Thanks Sandy, I've not tried uploading samples but using the Forum Add-in tools, here goes:

Current Dataset:
Excel 2016 (Windows) 64 bit
A
B
C
D
E
F
CallStartDt_dKoganOffHCFOffAFSOffPerfectPartnersOffPetSecureOff
1/07/2015 0:00​
0​
41​
23​
0​
25​
2/07/2015 0:00​
0​
56​
10​
0​
58​
3/07/2015 0:00​
0​
32​
17​
0​
34​
6/07/2015 0:00​
0​
53​
31​
0​
44​
7/07/2015 0:00​
0​
69​
21​
1​
38​