Power Query How to list folder names only NOT files

Joyner

Hello, I am fairly new to Power Query and have searched but can't find a solution - every thing I find is related to listing files, not folders. Is it possible for power query to just list folder names from a path? I can list all files with the path and extract the folder name but removing the duplicates with the voluminous files is taking way too long for some reasons, so if I can just list the folder names instead of all files should be much faster.

Thank You

Excel Facts

Difference between two dates
Secret function! Use =DATEDIF(A2,B2,"Y")&" years"&=DATEDIF(A2,B2,"YM")&" months"&=DATEDIF(A2,B2,"MD")&" days"
it depends on what the structure is, you can:
group whole path if necessary
split FolderPath by \
remove last blank column

eg.
Folder Path.1Folder Path.2Folder Path.3Folder Path.4Folder Path.5Count
D:BaseFolderFolder1
1​
D:BaseFolderFolder2Folder2.1Folder2.1.1
1​
D:BaseFolderFolder2Folder2.1Folder2.1.2
1​
D:BaseFolderFolder2Folder2.1Folder2.1.3
4​
D:BaseFolderFolder2Folder2.2
1​

Code:
[SIZE=1]let
    Source = Folder.Files("D:\BaseFolder"),
    #"Removed Other Columns" = Table.SelectColumns(Source,{"Folder Path"}),
    #"Grouped Rows" = Table.Group(#"Removed Other Columns", {"Folder Path"}, {{"Count", each Table.RowCount(_), type number}}),
    #"Split Column by Delimiter" = Table.SplitColumn(#"Grouped Rows", "Folder Path", Splitter.SplitTextByDelimiter("\", QuoteStyle.Csv), {"Folder Path.1", "Folder Path.2", "Folder Path.3", "Folder Path.4", "Folder Path.5", "Folder Path.6"}),
    #"Removed Columns" = Table.RemoveColumns(#"Split Column by Delimiter",{"Folder Path.6"})
in
    #"Removed Columns"[/SIZE]

Last edited:
Upvote 0