Adding Power Pivot Data to the Data Model?

Maggie Barr

Board Regular
Hello and thank you in advance if you can help,
I am using MS Office 2019 on a PC. I am somewhat new to Power Query and Power Pivot, and I am trying to analyze a data set in a way that as much of it as possible is "automatic". I currently have to run multiple pivot tables and bring information from them, by hand, into a final summary table. I would like to add my pivot tables to the data model so that I could potentially build on the model, and thus be able to bring data from those directly into a final summary. When I go to insert a pivot table, use this workbook's Data Model, Existing Worksheet, the little box for Add this data to the Data Model is grayed out. Does anyone know why that is and how I can get the data into the model. I have all my pivot tables built, and if there were a way to select the table and add it, that would be great, but, if not, I can recreate them, it is just not giving me the option. My pivot tables do have more than one field as a header (meaning two rows), so I do not know if that will pose a problem.
Any help would be appreciated,
Thank you,
Maggie

Excel Facts

Save Often
If you start asking yourself if now is a good time to save your Excel workbook, the answer is Yes
You should add the source of the pivots to the datamodel, not the pivots themselves. If necessary, join them in Power Pivot if they are different structures, or merge them in Power Query if they are the same.

Upvote 0
theBardd,