Can a Measure create more than one value?

Maggie Barr

Board Regular
Hello and thank you in advance if you can help,
I am VERY new to using measures. I am using Excel 2019 on a PC.

I have created some measures that will give me a distinct count of species in a query/dataset, as well as a distinct count of blocks. My data has fields/columns for All Regions, Region, BlockType, Block Name, and Species Name.

I have been searching for a way to see if I can create measures based on groups within the same table. For instance, I need a measure of the number of Block Names each species occurs in grouped by the Region and Block type so that when I create my pivot table I can put that in a column as it relates to each species in the row.

I have been able to do this using a number of reference queries by grouping and counting and summing numbers as needed, but the number of queries I created is almost mind boggling, and it is making my workbook run very slow as it progresses, so I am trying to find a way to do some of it with measures.

Can a measure store information as a series of numerical values for each group within a larger dataset, or do you have to create a query that groups the information first?
Thank you, any advice is appreciated,
Maggie

Last edited:

Excel Facts

What do {} around a formula in the formula bar mean?
{Formula} means the formula was entered using Ctrl+Shift+Enter signifying an old-style array formula.
James006,