Noob question - Excel queries

Excel_Blonde

Hi all,

I'm very new to excel queries and was wondering if i'd better off using VBA for what I'm trying to achieve?

Also are queries the same as power query? Is power query an add in? (Like I say I'm very new)

Essentially, I'm trying to combine worksheets into one Master workbook and then use conditions to return a list into another worksheet within the same Master workbook.

So far I have managed to create a query which imports all data sheets within a specified folder. I've managed to set it to automatically refresh upon loading (including any new worksheets).

Now what I need to do is to drill down further, hopefully the below table will help to explain.

If the unique identifier2 appears 3 times with different unique identifier1's and Names I would it to list into sheet2. List all entries meeting this criteria.

NameUnique Identifier 1Unique identifier 2Unique identifier 3P1P2A1A2
Order1Op1UnpeelBanana2507
Order1Op2TestBanana2735
Order2Op1UnpeelBanana2505
Order2Op2TestBanana2754
Order3Op1WashApple2556
Order3Op2TestApple4564
Order4Op1UnpeelBanana5648
Order4Op2SliceBanana4638
Order4Op3TestBanana4586
Order5Op1WashOrange4859
Order5Op2TestOrange1245
Order5Op3UnpeelOrange5849

<tbody>
</tbody>

Note. The number of ops can change for the same unique identifier, e.g one order for banana can have 2 ops but another can have 3 ops.

I hope this makes sense.

Excel Facts

What did Pito Salas invent?
Pito Salas, working for Lotus, popularized what would become to be pivot tables. It was released as Lotus Improv in 1989.
Edit: If the unique identifier3 appears 3 times with different unique identifier1's and Names I would it to list into sheet2. List all entries meeting this criteria.

Upvote 0
it is not easy to use formulas in pq. why not add another column with excel formula? if you want to count how many in one column, you will have to create new table/list with unique values in pq.