crmiko

I am a middle school math teacher. I bought Power Excel (2019 edition) and was instantly overwhelmed. I am sure the book has the information to help me but I don't know what is called to do what I want.

We have to post grades with comments 4 times a year. The list of comments we can use are included in a drop-down menu. Not all the comments apply to what I want to say but I have to look through all the comments every time. If I make a list of all the comments and I put them in a table. Can I put in the grade percentage in and only have a selected few comments come up that apply to the percentage I put in?

If this is possible, my life would be easier.

Thanks

Excel Facts

Copy PDF to Excel
Select data in PDF. Paste to Microsoft Word. Copy from Word and paste to Excel.
Hi,

Hmmm. I'm not sure how grades should correspond to comments.
Will your pupils get
1) 0%,10%,50%,80%?
2) Or also 38%?

If case 2 is true then I'm not sure how to help you in an easy way. I'd use some helper columns to achieve it.

However if 1st case is true then it is quite easy.

We need to create two worksheets. For the sake of this post I will create:
1) Worksheet: grade_comments - this will hold info about grade vs comments
2) Worksheet: grades - this will hold your pupils grades with cells with drop-down

Worksheet "grade_comments" looks like this:

Excel 2016 (Windows) 32 bit
AB
1Grade (%)Comment
20Comment1
310Comment2
410Comment3
510Comment4
620Comment5
720Comment6
820Comment7
920Comment8
1030Comment9
1130Comment10
1230Comment11
1340Comment12
1440Comment13
1540Comment14
1640Comment15
1750Comment16
1850Comment17
1950Comment18
2050Comment19
2150Comment20

<tbody>
</tbody>
grade_comments

That's all for "grade_comments".

Worksheet "grades" looks like this:

ABC
1PupilGrade (%)Comment
2Tom10
3Mark50
4Jessica50
5Meggy40

<tbody>
</tbody>
grades
Ok. Now the tricky part..
For C2 you have to enable Data Validation (in Data tab). Pick List and in source field you have to put this formula: