Calculate values - in an array?

tourgis2000

Hi all,

I'm a beginner to PowerPivot, and I don't really know how to ask my question, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

I have a table of values with two columns:

Column A = Items
Column B = Position of Item (values of about 1-15 but could be greater)

I want to produce a measure that (1) calculates the number of Items by position and (2) multiplies that result against the position of the item. An example might be:

ItemPosition
Apples1
Apples3
Apples1
Pears2
Oranges6
Oranges6

<tbody>
</tbody>

The result I'm trying to get to is:

123456Total
Apples21
Pears1
Oranges2
Total211002=((2x1)+(1x2)+(1x3)+(0x4)+(0x5)+(2x6))/6

<tbody>
</tbody>

I can create this in an ordinary pivot and then use calculations to get the answer but how can I do all of it in a PowerPivot measure?

Thanks,

Martin

Excel Facts

Get help while writing formula
Click the italics "fx" icon to the left of the formula bar to open the Functions Arguments dialog. Help is displayed for each argument.
Martin, welcome to PowerPivot!

The good news is that this is possible, however its hardly a straightforward introduction to DAX!

I started with a measure to do a basic count of the items (assuming your table is called 'Fact'):

Code:
[Count Items]=COUNTA(Fact[Item])

The main measure then tests to see if the Item has a single value and if so returns [Count Items], if not it runs an interative average function whereby it calculates the Total Count * Position for each position and then averages them.

Code:
=IF(HASONEVALUE(Fact[Item]),[Count Items],
            AVERAGEX(VALUES(Fact[Position]), MAX(Fact[Position])*CALCULATE([Count Items],ALL(Fact[Item])))                            
         )