Power View: Material Recipe / Product Hierarchy

claytonbrown23

Hello,

I'm using Excel 2013, and windows 7. I've spent a good 4 or 5 hours Googling this and can't figure it out so I thought I'd try MrExcel!

I'm new to Power Pivot / View and am trying to figure out how I can "teach" excel the relationship that exists between my data tables as it relates to a Book of Materials, or when you make several products - but sometimes one product is part of another. The below data is what I'm working with, I'm trying to learn Power Pivot (hence why the data is ridiculously simple!).

PRODUCT -- PARTS
Phone -- Small Screen, CPU
Tablet -- Big Screen, CPU
Laptop -- Big Screen, CPU, Keyboard
CPU -- CPU

PARTS -- SUB-PARTS
Small Screen -- Glass
Big Screen -- Glass x 2
Keyboard -- Plastic

A few things to note:
  • I sell some products without modifying them (CPU's)
  • Not all products have the same # of parts (Laptop = 3, Phone / Tablet = 2).
  • Each product and part would also include LABOR and DEPRECIATION

The End Result / What I'm Looking For:

I'd like to have a stacked bar chart that I'd choose a product to display. So, I'd choose phone and see a stacked bar chart with 3 sections - Parts, Labor, and Depreciation.

If I'm curious about where the cost of parts is coming from I'd double click the parts section and get a new stacked bar chart that would have 2 sections - Small Screen, and CPU.

Being curious as a cat I'd then double click "Small Screen" to see where that price is coming from and I'd get 3 sections - Parts, Labor, and Depreciation (yes ... again).

And Finally I click on Parts and get a solid, 1-bar stacked chart with glass.

This is quite the headache because I don't know where to even start. It's hard to think of how I can possible "explain" to excel this relationship ... even though it's quite simple.