Quick Source Change?

MickeyPvX

Hey everybody! Been a while since I've been on here, and the first time on the Power BI section.

Anyways, I've been dabbling with Power Query to pull NCAA Basketball data off of a stats site to mess around with. However, the way the site is set up, the columns I want to add to my large table are all at different URLs, so I've built like 50 queries all pointing to different URLs to pull the data off the tables at each one. I'm pretty new to Power Query, so I have two questions:

1. Is there a better way to do that, i.e. can I build one query pointing to all the different sources and pull the data as I need it? Right now I have another query that merges all the individual ones as a solution.

2. Now I want to pull data from another year, which is another 50-ish URLs, but I really would rather not brute-force it like the first time. So I guess this will be easier if the answer to Question 1 is, "Yep, and here's how you do it..." Originally I was thinking about writing some sort of script to change all the source URLs from the original queries.

Any help is appreciated, let me know if I can provide any more helpful information.

Excel Facts

Difference between two dates
Secret function! Use =DATEDIF(A2,B2,"Y")&" years"&=DATEDIF(A2,B2,"YM")&" months"&=DATEDIF(A2,B2,"MD")&" days"
So, the short answer is "Yes, you can do that by writing a function which pull 1 page... then calling the function multiple times". The devil will be in the details.

You are about to write some custom M script, so... maybe go buy Ken Puls new book :)

Upvote 0
So, the short answer is "Yes, you can do that by writing a function which pull 1 page... then calling the function multiple times". The devil will be in the details.

You are about to write some custom M script, so... maybe go buy Ken Puls new book :)