Assistance needed with 5 year sales projection for manufacturing company

jfrancis

Hi everyone, I have recently been asked to make changes to a sales forecast. I've never done a task like this before but I would like to make a 5 year sales projection based on historical data from 2010-2016.

Every company deals with different items, and so, it becomes difficult to follow online tutorials and YouTube videos on how to create a sales forecast. A bit more about my company: we manufacture pipeline products (steel only) and they come in various sizes, grades and thicknesses.

Our selling price greatly depends on the current oil prices (WTI). When the price of oil drops, we make less revenue and vice versa. My current forecast looks like this and I have sales data from 2010 to 2016.

BB50nw3.png

I also have forecast oil prices from 2016 to 2020 and since there is a positive correlation between oil prices and our revenue, I want to prepare a sales projection based on this data. Any help would be appreciated. Can I make a projected revenue graph and table without having to increment each future year by 10%. That approach would merely increase the sales projection without taking into consideration the trends in oil prices.

I currently have the below fields of data:
1. Sales revenue per client (in US$)
2. Sales volume (in metric tons) per client
3. Historical oil prices (2010 - 2016)
4. Forecast oil prices (2016 - 2020)

Excel Facts

Do you hate GETPIVOTDATA?
Prevent GETPIVOTDATA. Select inside a PivotTable. In the Analyze tab of the ribbon, open the dropown next to Options and turn it off
Well, at least it's a pretty cool and fun project... if a bit challenging :)

To some degree it is probably going to depend on how fancy you want to get with your predictions. If you want to go all-out, you would be talking Azure ML or R... which integrates pretty well with Power BI (but I am less sure about Excel). But you would be talking about a pretty serious learning curve.