COUNTROWS but only for the last date, ignoring filter context

GarC

I expect this is actually quite easy but I'm new to PowerPivot/PowerBI and am struggling a little.

Below is a simplified dataset of a table named Daily. The customer numbers are the same each day and each passes through stages on the way to being "Complete". When they are complete, they stay complete and will not be removed. The project is over when all Build Flags are complete.

Run DateCityCustomerNo.Build Flag
01/10/2016London1Not Started
01/10/2016London2Not Started
01/10/2016Paris3Not Started
01/10/2016Paris4Not Started
01/10/2016Paris5Not Started
02/10/2016London1Not Started
02/10/2016London2Not Started
02/10/2016Paris3In Progress
02/10/2016Paris4In Progress
02/10/2016Paris5In Progress
03/10/2016London1In Progress
03/10/2016London2In Progress
03/10/2016Paris3In Progress
03/10/2016Paris4In QC
03/10/2016Paris5In QC
04/10/2016London1In Progress
04/10/2016London2In QC
04/10/2016Paris3In QC
04/10/2016Paris4Completed
04/10/2016Paris5Completed

<tbody>
</tbody>

I have various reports which work fine but am having difficulty creating a table which contains a COUNTROWS but only for the last date in the model.
I want to ensure that the date does not respond to filter context which seems to be the problem.

COUNTROWSNot StartedIn ProgressIn QCCompleted
London0110
Paris0012

<tbody>
</tbody>

I feel I am very close but am inexperienced with FILTER() and ALL().

I have a few measures which I feel are not far off but none are quite right. A little guidance would be appreciated.

This is a convoluted way to just COUNTROWS and responds to filter context. I know it needs ALL() but haven't got it right yet.
Code:
CountRows_OnlyOnLastDate_v1 = CALCULATE(COUNTROWS(Daily),FILTER(Daily,Daily[run date]=LASTDATE(Daily[run date])))

This expression is returning all data. It doesn't respond to filter context (good) but isn't pre-filtering to the LASTDATE (bad).
Code: