Ways to enter DAX code

Mightystomp

Board Regular
Hi

I am trying to teach myself DAX. My question is this.

At the moment entering all code through "Calculated fields" in the Power Pivot tab in Excel (Excel 2013). Is there any other way of entering code? I ask because i find the small window in "Calculated Fields" restricting when writing longer code. Either i need to condense (not use line shifts) the code making it less legiable or not being able to see the whole code at a time.

Thnak you

Excel Facts

How can you turn a range sideways?
Copy the range. Select a blank cell. Right-click, Paste Special, then choose Transpose.
So many things to cover.

Teaching yourself DAX can be a challenge. I have taught lots of "self taught" DAX students in classes, and they alway say "I have to go back and start again". Of course maybe the way you are learning is different, but just be aware that it is hard to teach yourself. If you want a cheap, curated approach, then consider my book. Learn to Write DAX - Excelerator BI

In my view, writing your code in the Calc Field dialog is the best approach. First set up a pivot table, then click in the pivot table, then add the formula as you describe. Once you are done, the formula appears in the pivot table and you get immediate feedback if the formula is correct. There is another way. Go to the Power Pivot window (back end), go to the data view and then the calculation pane at the bottom. You can write measures there. But I don't think it is as good - but it is up to you.

You can make the calc field dialog larger by expanding the dialog box. You can also increase the font size by using Ctrl + Mouse Wheel. Use Shift + Enter to create a new line and lots of spaces to indent. You can also cut and paste your formulas to DAX Formatter by SQLBI for syntax checking and formatting

Upvote 0