measure to count occurances between two dates

smaur

Ok, I've been working in DAX for several months now, but progress comes in fits and starts.
I really appreciated the help last time for this question:

http://www.mrexcel.com/forum/power-bi/928721-measure-selectively-sum-durations-events.html

Working on the same project, I have a table listing all system 'outage' events with a date the outage began and an outage category 'A', 'B' or 'C'. I also have a date calendar set up.

I would like to create a measure that based on a slicer selection of a desired date span it will return a count of the number of Category 'A' type outages between the dates selected by the user.

Thanks!

Excel Facts

What is the shortcut key for Format Selection?
Ctrl+1 (the number one) will open the Format dialog for whatever is selected.
If one event is one row in your table, then total events is
total events = countrows(eventsTable)

then

cat A events = calculate([total events],eventsTable[category]="A")

this will react to any date filters you apply

Upvote 0
Thanks Matt, but that is not responding to my date slicer. It gives a total count of all Cat A events in the table.
The events fact table has a date for each event, on some days there are no events on others there can be multiple events.
The date slicer is tied to my dCalendar table which is not linked to the events table.

Hope that added info helps.

Upvote 0
Your date slicer needs to be on the calendar table, and the calendar table needs to be linked to your data table on the date column.

Upvote 0
Matt, I really appreciate your help with this,

Yes the date slicer is on the calendar table, but I do not have it linked to the date field in the events table, the reason being that the field in the events table is actually the date and time (format mm/dd/yyyy hh:mm:ss) when the outage event started, while the calendar table is just the date in mm/dd/yyyy format.