Power BI Measure - calculate on two columns in same table

M1donne

Hi there

I'm trying to create a measure using two columns in the same table..

I'm trying to sum two columns

Total days = sum(Table1[Metric]+Table1[Metric2])

However I'm getting the following DAX message...

The SUM function only accepts a column reference as an argument.

I'm new to PowerBi and Dax - can someone please point me in the right direction?

Much appreciated

Md

Excel Facts

Format cells as date
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+3 to format cells as date. (Shift 3 is the # sign which sort of looks like a small calendar).
SUM can only take one column at a time, so you have to use:

Total Days:=SUM(Table1[Metric])+SUM(Table1[Metric2])

Upvote 0
Thank you

I'm still getting the same error message, even when I use multiple sums as below

Total Days = SUM(Table1[Metric]) + SUM(Table1[Metric2])

I'm confused - could it be due to both Metric and Metric 2 are Sigma calculations?

regards

Upvote 0
What do you mean by:
could it be due to both Metric and Metric 2 are Sigma calculations?

Are [Metric] and [Metric2] columns or measures? If they are measures, then you do not need to refer to Table1 or use SUM:
Total Days:=[Metric]+[Metric2]

Upvote 0
Hi there

They are both columns, the Sigma sign to the right of the column name (in the fields section of the screen) - can you please confirm what that means?

I appreciate your help :)

Upvote 0
Hi there

They are both columns, the Sigma sign to the right of the column name (in the fields section of the screen) - can you please confirm what that means?

I appreciate your help :)

Alright, so if it has a sigma sign next to the field in the PivotTable field list, then it is a measure, not a column. You cannot use it in a SUM function. If you want to add them together, just use [Metric]+[Metric2]. You'll want to be sure you know what the measures are doing so that you get the expected result.