Re-adding a previously removed column in power query

rjcampbell

HI,

I am pulling products through from microsoft crm using the odata feed. I have over 350 fields been pulled through and for any particular power query i am creating i will use about 10 of these fields.

The problem i am having is that at times i will remove a column that i will later want to use.

Is there a process to add an individual column row that has been removed in a previous applied step? My experience with changing previous steps is that it corrupts all of the subsequent steps.

I am new to power query so hope i have explained myself Clearly. Any questions to make my problem clearer are welcome.

Thanks.

Excel Facts

Copy formula down without changing references
If you have =SUM(F2:F49) in F50; type Alt+' in F51 to copy =SUM(F2:F49) to F51, leaving the formula in edit mode. Change SUM to COUNT.
Welcome to the MrExcel forum.

Below some code with 3 options. I created a 7-column table in Excel *, then I selected 4 columns and added a sum.
* I guess it should be working similarly with your Odata feed.

I added the first line of each option via the Advanced Editor.
The "Expanded Column" steps were done via the UI.

These options will only work if the rows all still the same (so no filtering, sorting, grouping in between, otherwise you would need (a) column(s) with key values and merge the tables from the different steps).

Code:
let
    Source = Excel.CurrentWorkbook(){[Name="Table1"]}[Content],
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Column 1", Int64.Type}, {"Column 2", Int64.Type}, {"Column 3", Int64.Type}, {"Column 4", Int64.Type}, {"Column 5", Int64.Type}, {"Column 6", Int64.Type}, {"Column 7", Int64.Type}}),
    #"Removed Other Columns" = Table.SelectColumns(#"Changed Type",{"Column 1", "Column 2", "Column 3", "Column 4"}),