Total that is different from sum of parts

millhouse123

I am new to Power Query and Power Pivot so I am not sure if this is even possible. I have a data set that has 3 buckets that sum book value and weighted duration. I was able to figure out how to create a custom column formula to calculate the weighted duration by bucket and source.
Code:
=([Book Value]/
[SIZE=3][COLOR=#0000ff][SIZE=3][COLOR=#0000ff]CALCULATE[/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=3]([/SIZE][SIZE=3][COLOR=#0000ff][SIZE=3][COLOR=#0000ff]SUM[/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=3]([Book Value]),[/SIZE][SIZE=3][COLOR=#0000ff][SIZE=3][COLOR=#0000ff]FILTER[/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=3](Append1,Append1[Source]=[/SIZE][SIZE=3][COLOR=#0000ff][SIZE=3][COLOR=#0000ff]EARLIER[/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=3](Append1[Source])&&Append1[Bucket]=[/SIZE][SIZE=3][COLOR=#0000ff][SIZE=3][COLOR=#0000ff]EARLIER[/COLOR][/SIZE][/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=3](Append1[Bucket])))*[Duration])[/SIZE]

I created a pivot table based on this data which looks like this

Source Bucket Sum book value sum of WA duration

1st Source <4 106,479,948 5.16
1st Source 4-8 181,677,683 9.98
1st Source >8 284,681,654 5.44
1st Source Total 572,839,286 20.58

All of the above data is technically correct however the weighted average duration total should be 6.83 instead of 20.58 which is the weighted average of the total 1st source.

Any ideas how to get my data to show up this way would be great.

Thank you

Excel Facts

How to find 2nd largest value in a column?
MAX finds the largest value. =LARGE(A:A,2) will find the second largest. =SMALL(A:A,3) will find the third smallest
Hi Millhouse,