Creating new table in MS Excel 2013 PowerPivot

dluhut

Hello,

Although I won't say that I'm a beginner in Excel, but I'm relatively new with Power Pivot.

Had been playing around with it and watch many videos. However, I have an issue and hope that this forum could help me out.

Say I have 3 tables that have a column 'id' where none of them are unique.

I need to know 2 things:

1. How can I create a new table in 'data model'?
  2. How can I insert the distinct/unique ID from each table onto the newly created table?

FYI, I'm using MS Excel 2013, and I'm trying to avoid creating the 4th table in Excel (that is putting together each of the ID and make a pivot table out of it to get the distinct/unique ID. Reason being, I'd like to when I refresh the 'table', the 4th table can automatically populated itself on the data model.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Excel Facts

Links? Where??
If Excel says you have links but you can't find them, go to Formulas, Name Manager. Look for old links to dead workbooks & delete.
Hi,

I believe some extra info might help us to better understand the issue. You could post some samples of your current tables and the expected results. I have a couple of questions as well:
  • You are saying that the three tables have no unique ID's, but you want to consolitdate the unique ID's in a fourth table. Do you intend to create unique ID's for each row or only join unique values?
  • Where do your tables come from? Are they linked tables on a spreadsheet, data pasted into Power Pivot, external data loaded through PowerPivot or through Power Query?

Near the end of the Forum Guidelines you can find several tools you can use to post your data samples as tables.

Upvote 0
Hi FranzV,

I don't know if the sample would do any better in explaining, because I wasn't able to produce the result...Let me see if there's a way that I can attached a sample...from my understanding, this forum doesn't allow an attachement

Answer to your questions: