Excel VBA no automatic break when divide by 0

RBachman

I have been using Excel VBA since 1994 and have written 100's of applications. I am currently Using Microsoft 365 and am on a preview subscription and update once a week. I am now developing array output UDF functions.

Over the last while (at least 6 months) I noticed that when my VBA code divides by zero I get no VBA error message dialog box like I used to have (with a Debug or End selection required). The program just returns to the Excel environment with an error in a single cell. This is extremely annoying as this usually happens deep within a For-Next loop.

I have no user forms or class modules or any 'On Error' statements. In the trust center Macro Setting tab I have 'Enable VBA macros' selected. No add-ins are enabled. There are no links in the workbook to other workbooks and I am using the *.xlsm file system. Setting breakpoints and navigating through the code works fine. When I hit run at some point it crashes (I know it is dividing by 0). I am then returned to the Excel enrionment.

My VBA options are the same as I always have used:
Auto Syntax Check = off
Variable Declaration = on

On the General tab
I have 'Break on unhandled Errors' , the default. I have tried 'Break on all Errors' to no avail.

I have run out of ideas.

Bob

Excel Facts

How to create a cell-sized chart?
Tiny charts, called Sparklines, were added to Excel 2010. Look for Sparklines on the Insert tab.
So, if you complete close out of Excel, then start it up again, create a brand new workbook, and place this simple VBA procedure into a new module and try to run it, do you get any error messages?
VBA Code:
Sub MyTest()
    Dim x As Long
    x = 3 / 0
End Sub
I see this:
1681410278309.png

Upvote 0
So, if you complete close out of Excel, then start it up again, create a brand new workbook, and place this simple VBA procedure into a new module and try to run it, do you get any error messages?
VBA Code:
Sub MyTest()
    Dim x As Long