Hyperlink function not jumping

Mrock1

Board Regular
I am very new to using the Hyperlink function and after resolving an issue when using nested IFs with different hyperlink functions in a cell I have found something odd. If the cell containing the hyperlink function isn’t selected, then clicking on the cell works just fine. However, if the cell has been selected (eg by using the cursor keys, clicking on the cell does nothing.

While I don’t think it’s related (I’m happy to be proven wrong), the cell also has a data validation list. If the cell is already selected, clicking on it not only ignores the hyperlink but it also drops down the data validation list as if I’d clicked on the dropdown arrow.

I have used hyperlinks on cells before using the Ctrl-K method and this works anytime the cell is clicked on, selected or not. I’m also aware that the hyperlink function allows a ping mouse click to select the cell, but that’s not what I’m doing.

Hope someone knows how to correct this behaviour.

Thx
Max

Excel Facts

Control Word Wrap
Press Alt+Enter to move to a new row in a cell. Lets you control where the words wrap.
As an update I tried a simple workbook with a very simply conditional hyperlink function in a single cell with single IF condition looking for an ISBLANK in B1, then jumping to A1 if blank and B1 if not. That worked. I then added a data validation list (1,2,3,4) and that worked as well. I did find a workaround in my workbook by enhancing my already conditional data validation list to make it a single cell range if it was blank and that seemed to work. I think I've out complicated myself.

The cell contatins the formula:
=LET(Prev, MATCH($C576,$C$19:$C575,0),
PrevRecordFound, ISNUMBER(Prev),
ThisYr, DATE(YEAR(TODAY()),MONTH(T$19&"1"),1),
IsDue, MOD(DATEDIF([@[Start Date]],ThisYr,"M")/VLOOKUP(O576,MyPeriods,2,FALSE),1)=0,
ValueAtPrev, INDEX([Mar],Prev-1),
HPLAofPrev, "#" & ADDRESS(Prev+18,COLUMN()),
HPLAofCurr, "#" & ADDRESS(ROW(),COLUMN()),