Macro to import multile xml into xlsm with Map data properties or schema

PippaThePointer

Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi,
I have some basic Macro knowledge learnt from this site manly. But not sure how to do the following.
I have a bunch of xml files all with the same format. I want to be able to use a standing xlsm template that has a header row and formating and then get the user to import all the availble xml in a folder but map only the relvent tags i require to the correct columns.
  • Ideally i would like it to search all subfolders within the selected folders but i can work around this if not possible.
  • I would like it to display the number of xml files picked up
  • Possibly i may want to more the selected xml files to another folders (complete, for example)
I dont know too much about 'map data' but i created a test and could manually import xml with map data but it only brought in the first xml. Hopefully someone can whip me up a little macro example were it grabs all availble xml and maps to the active workfbook from row 2 to end.

Then after the use makes some manualy checks and changes i can write another macro that would export the data back out line by line as xml or csv to run in another system.
Appreciate any help.

Excel Facts

Which lookup functions find a value equal or greater than the lookup value?
MATCH uses -1 to find larger value (lookup table must be sorted ZA). XLOOKUP uses 1 to find values greater and does not need to be sorted.
Just use power query no macro needed, i assume that the structure of the files are the same, i.e. column and column headers are the same.

Upvote 0
Just use power query no macro needed, i assume that the structure of the files are the same, i.e. column and column headers are the same.

Hi, Thanks for this info. It was realy helpful as i have never used or looked at power query. Its seems awesome. My reply is overdue becuase i have had few days trialing it and testing various things.