Multiple Vlookups in one

Austin R

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. Web
Hello.

I have a sheet that has a master list of all the item employees in my company have signed out, I am making a sheet to pull that information in based off a search of an employee. Not all employees have the same equipment signed out so some of the cells are blank.

Here is what the sheet of data looks like.
Screenshot 2023-05-14 173800.png

And here is what the search sheet looks like.
Capture.PNG

In H7 I currently have =IF(ISBLANK(VLOOKUP(A7,Sheet2!A:G,3,FALSE)),"BLANK",VLOOKUP(A7,Sheet2!A:G,3,FALSE))

What I am trying to do is if the cell that it is looking up is blank or not, if it is not blank I want the "Serial Number" to transfer over, and if it is blank I want to search the next cell and basically repeat the process. The problem I am running into is whenever I replace the value_if_true portion ("Blank") with another IF(ISBLANK(VLOOKUP) formula everything stops working.

Thank you all in advance for your help!

This is not the exact information I am working with. The real sheet is on my work computer, I am just trying to find the solution before I go back in.

Excel Facts

What is =ROMAN(40) in Excel?
The Roman numeral for 40 is XL. Bill "MrExcel" Jelen's 40th book was called MrExcel XL.
Hi Austin,
Vlookup will return a value or an NA. If the search data is found it will return the value in the cell you've reference, if the cell is blank it will return a 0 and isblank() will be false. So in your IF look for 0 or perhaps "" as an empty string, depends what's in your source data.
Can be handy to use the formula tab --> "evaluate formula" function for these types of issues. It steps through your formula and shows the values along each step of execution.

Upvote 0
Since you have Excel 365, you should look into XLOOLUP.

I would be easier on anyone helping you if you used XL2BB to show your sample sheet.

Upvote 0