Proof of concept review - can't reference dynamically created table cells from second worksheet

ajcourtney

Thanks for a great forum! I've learned a ton so far. I'm soliciting recommendations on logistics and syntax. Some background: I don't have any experience with VBA or enough knowledge within Excel. Instead I have about 20 years of software development experience in financial svcs using portfolio management software designed to keep investment management and operational processes out of Excel and in the investment management platform. The problem with at least one of these platforms is it's based on 1980's flat file technology - so no relational DB technology in play.

During the past couple of weeks, I've been trying to use figure out how to use Excel as a reporting "add on" if you will to one of these software systems, making sure it would be scalable to 100's or 1000's of reporting instances. Specifically, I'm exporting multiple text files out of the investment management platform that contain 100-200 data points (e.g., investment holdings, market values, % of portfolio, total dividends, total interest, total distributions, etc.) that get placed in an Excel worksheet that other reporting worksheets (let's say 3-6 other sheets) within a single workbook use to build a client facing reporting package. There would be one workbook per client relationship which would enable you to customize the appearance on a per client level if so desired.

The way the macro currently works (Auto_Open) is it clears the contents in the import sheet from the prior import, it parses each text file into a static location on the import sheet, builds the necessary table or two, and sorts each table based on the appropriate column in the array. The only time a table is constructed is when sorting is required. Otherwise, it's a simple data import to regular cells.