VBA Loop Through Data Validation Drop Down List

RMBruno

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi everyone,

I am new to macros and when I tried to record a macro of myself clicking through data validation list to update certain formulas, it seems as though the action would not be recorded.

I have a drop down list in cell "K3" that has 5 options which are linked to cells "A3:A7"

I also have a drop down list in cell "I58" that has 4 options linked to cells "A59:A62"

For each drop down in cell "K3", I need to loop through each drop down in "I58"..

For example, I set the first drop down in "K3", then I click through each option in "I58", then click the second dropdown in "K3" and repeat running through each dropdown in "58" and so on..

Can someone please help me out? Thank you so much in advance and let me know if I need to clarify anything!

Excel Facts

When did Power Query debut in Excel?
Although it was an add-in in Excel 2010 & Excel 2013, Power Query became a part of Excel in 2016, in Data, Get & Transform Data.
If the dropdown uses a list, and the list is in the range you specified, then you can just loop through that range to obtain the list.

VBA Code:
Sub demo1()
    Dim R As Range
    Dim VList As String

For Each R In Range("A59:A62")                    'dropdown list for  cell I58
        VList = VList & R.Value & vbCr
    Next R

MsgBox VList, , "Validation List for cell I58"
End Sub

Upvote 0
If the dropdown uses a list, and the list is in the range you specified, then you can just loop through that range to obtain the list.

VBA Code:
Sub demo1()
    Dim R As Range
    Dim VList As String

For Each R In Range("A59:A62")                    'dropdown list for  cell I58
        VList = VList & R.Value & vbCr
    Next R

MsgBox VList, , "Validation List for cell I58"
End Sub
Appreciate the reply. Will this code click through each option in the list for for cells I58 and K3?

Does not seem to be updating anything when I run this macro

Upvote 0