Creating Summary Report in another Worksheet

zrwolf

Board Regular
I have an excel worksheet that stores hardware information for a particular job. Hardware is listed by type in columns. There are almost always duplicate listings in a given column (This is neccessary). What I would like to do is to have some summary type information (Part and Qty) on a separate worksheet. I have provided a sample of a column on my existing sheet and what I would like to see on another sheet.

Existing Sheet:

Hardware Type #1 | Hardware Type #2
A1 | Z9
A1 | Z9
A1 | Z9
A2 | Z10
A1 | Z9

New Summary Sheet:

Type#1
A1 | 4
A2 | 1

Type#2
Z9 | 4
Z10 | 1

Any advice is much apprechiated. I am fairly new to excel and VBA but am learning with your help!

-Zack

Excel Facts

Save Often
If you start asking yourself if now is a good time to save your Excel workbook, the answer is Yes
Let's assume you have the sample data in A1:B6. You can very simply count the occurrences of a particular Type using the formula =COUNTIF("A1",$A$2:$A$6).
If you have a large number of Hardware Types, you can create a list of unique types with Data -> Filter -> Advanced Filter, and select the "Unique records only" checkbox, then substitute "A1" in the formula above with a reference to that list.
VBA will help if you want this summary to update automatically with every change, but it's simple enough to update periodically by hand that you may not want to bother.
HTH :) HAND

Upvote 0
I don't want a list of just unique types, I want to create a list the contains one entry for each different type. Then I want to count how many of each type there were. Sorry, I know the verbage is a little strange. Hopefully this example will clarify.

So if my original list is:
A
A
A
B
B
A
B
X
X
Y

I want my new list to be:
A 4
B 3
Y 1

I would also love for this to update automatically if that isn't extremely difficult.

Upvote 0
Like this?
Book2
ABCD
1AA4
2AB3
3AX2
4BY1
5B
6A
7B
8X
9X
10Y
Sheet1