Segregate price list on quote form

Navin R Johnson

I am a novice excel user looking for a little guidance:

I built a quote generator in Excel but have questions about making it user friendly for my colleagues while protecting confidential data from the outside world.

BACKGROUND:
The quote form is based on our price list. There are ~1,000 items on our price list. Each quote typically has about 20 line items. I used data validation to create lists of part numbers in various categories. When a part number is selected VLOOKUP fills in the cells in that row with Description, List Price and Discounted Price. As it is right now everything is in one file. The quoteform exists on sheet 1 and the price list is sheet 2.

QUESTIONS:
How do I protect confidential data from prying eyes? Not only do I want to hide the price list (with confidence that a clever user won't dig it up) I also want to disable the lists so that a customer can't simply use the quoteform as a tool to browse our price list.

One method seems to be to separate the price list from the quote generator but that seems to bring up a few challenges.

1) If the sheets are separated into QuoteForm.xls and PriceList.xls I believe PriceList.xls needs to be open for QuoteForm.xls to work, correct? Having to open two files might confuse or annoy my co-workers. Is there a way to automatically spaun PriceList.xls everytime QuoteForm.xls is opened by a trusted user?

2) If I go this route, customers will never have access to PriceList.xls unless I send it to them. The QuoteForm will still display the last set of data that was entered, correct? BUT won't customers get a message that "this file references data in a separate worksheet..."? Is there any way to avoid this?

Another option that I am considering is to embed the quote generator into a Word document but that seems to bring up its own series of problems.

Any advice would be appreciated, (even links to relevant threads).

Excel Facts