Level indicator

riaz

Just a thought that popped into my head. I have been a regular/addict on this forum since I joined oh so long ago (wow, nearly a month!).

I started here looking for answers, and have occasionally seen questions where I can also assist. My problem is trying to figure out at what level to pitch the answer - am I talking to a very experienced person who is stuck and a keyword will prompt her/him to the right avenue, or is it a total newbie who needs hand holding with detailed steps.

If there were some way to identify users' abilities, the answer could be phrased accordingly. What do you think?

Levels could range from rookie, basic, no VBA, some VBA, medium, expert, I know it all :biggrin:

Btw, I would class myself as medium with some VBA, so that shoots down my list immediately.

Cheers

Excel Facts

When they said...
When they said you are going to "Excel at life", they meant you "will be doing Excel your whole life".
That's a good question.

There are a couple of methods I use when working out how to pitch an answer : first up I take my cue from the general tone of the posters question, what sort of language / technical terms they use, any hints they give about experience with Access or VBA etc, if I'm unsure I sometimes ask, and lastly I try to mirror short questions with short answers and longer questions with answers sufficiently detailed to answer the question. If I have mis-read the OP (it happens) then they sometimes come back and tell me as much (e.g. "I'm a novice, so can you explain how I do this?").

But a good question nonetheless!

Cheers
Andrew

P.S. Per you list the 'know it all' wouldn't be asking questions here! :biggrin:

Hi Andrew

I see your point. Its just that I am afraid (nervous?) of giving offense, or causing annoyance, if I misread the level and come in as if explaining to a rookie to a guru. Conversely, if I have typed in a very short answer and the questioner is a rookie, that's no help either.