How to calculate present value (PV)? Help!

jacobjacob

Board Regular
Here's my question, if you are able to help, I'm trying to show this in excel, but I don't know a lot about calculating PV, so if you have a financial/investing background and can answer, this would be great. I'm new to this, so I will need specefic details.

You distribute 250,000 order forms each month for a product/service, and each account that you acquire is worth $170 annually with an expected lifetime of 7 years per account. What is the PV of the accounts you bring in month 1 assuming a 2, 5, and 10% response rate (assume a 10% discount rate).

Excel Facts

Which Excel functions can ignore hidden rows?
The SUBTOTAL and AGGREGATE functions ignore hidden rows. AGGREGATE can also exclude error cells and more.
Here's my thought: Deal with 2% response first. You'd get 5,000 responses the first month (250,000 x 2%). Multiply that times the value of $170/annually each or $850,000 the first year. I'd use PV in Excel to calculate what the PV is of $850,000 in a year, then another $850,000 in 2 years, etc through year 7. I think you need an interest rate (your discount rate?) to figure out how money will depreciate over time. This won't calculate the month by month PV... but the year by year should pretty close. And that kind of money I'd take a little less accuracy!

Good luck.

Upvote 0
wow, you are pretty good at this! Well my professor asked for the PV for month 1, and you know how that goes, give em' what they ask for...so I probably could calculate the year, and then divide that number by 12?

Jacob

Upvote 0
Check out this link...

http://support.microsoft.com/search...dType=ANY&maxResults=25&Titles=false&numDays=

If it doesn't work, search the MS KB for "PV". There are a lot of variables to consider when calculating this!

Also note that just because your Prof wanted 1 month, did he mean a 4-week or 5-week month? In our publishing world we work on a 4.3 week month.