how to set resolution?

mongkol

In Excel VBA, can we write the code to set up resolution to 1024x768 and after finish click button set it back?

Mongkol H.

Excel Facts

Select all contiguous cells
Pressing Ctrl+* (asterisk) will select the "current region" - all contiguous cells in all directions.
Aloha...

I am not a programmer, BUT...

I was looking for the answer to your question at MSKb. I haven't found the answer to setting the resolution, but came across this:

ACC2000: How to Get the Right and Down Measurements of a Form 210141
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;210141

Although it's in Access, the calls are for windows API, so I'm expecting the code can be used just as well, or adapted to Excel.

I also noticed:

Using Visual Basic to Return Screen Elements 106719
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;106719

Why are you trying to set the screen resolution?

Tana-Lee

Upvote 0
Take a look at John Walkenbach's tips for determining current resolution settings.

http://j-walk.com/ss/excel/tips/tip06.htm

Tana Lee...Some folks, like my boss, who has 20-800 vision, set their screen size to 800x600 because they're essentially blind, while most of us use 1024x768. Apps in 1024x768 don't show the "full picture" when they're viewed in 800x600, hence the need to change Excel's zoom based upon screen setting.

Smitty

Upvote 0
Aloha, Smitty...

Thanks for the info.

As an aside from Mongkol's post...

Isn't it a better design technique to design for the smaller resolution/window so that the workbook/sheet/form can be viewed appropriately on most computers?

Tana-Lee

Upvote 0
Tana Lee said:
Aloha, Smitty...

Thanks for the info.

As an aside from Mongkol's post...

Isn't it a better design technique to design for the smaller resolution/window so that the workbook/sheet/form can be viewed appropriately on most computers?

Tana-Lee