Converting Matrix Data to Vector and Vice Versa (Excel)

This is a discussion on Converting Matrix Data to Vector and Vice Versa (Excel) within the Excel Questions forums, part of the Question Forums category; Hey, I was looking to try and find out how to convert a matrix to a vector in excel. I'm ...

Post Converting Matrix Data to Vector and Vice Versa (Excel)

Hey,
    I was looking to try and find out how to convert a matrix to a vector in excel. I'm brand new to VBA so I'm not even close to at a point where I can make a program myself to do it but I need to figure out a way to do it for work.
    It would also be nice to figure out a way to do the vice versa too.

Essentially I work with temperature data which I get in a format such as
    Year Month Temperature
    1946 1 2
    1946 2 5
    1946 3 3
    1946 4 2
    ...etc...

I'd like to have it in this kind of format (matrix)
    Year 1 2 3 4 5 6 ...etc... 12 (months in a year)
    1946 2 5 3 2

The year part is not important really cause its easy to add in afterwards so really I just need to figure out how to do the grid of temperatures organized by months like shown above (still in order by year)

It would also be nice to learn how to do the vice versa i.e. switching from the gridded format back to the single line so I can do 12-month running means...

Thanks!

Default Re: Converting Matrix Data to Vector and Vice Versa (Excel)

A pivot table will do what you want.

Hey, Thanks for the quick reply.

I don't think a pivot table will exactly suit my needs at this point. I have never used one before and in trying to use it (in response to your post) I did find it a bit more cumbersome than I was hoping. Plus it summarized many things by summing fields in which I would be looking for averages (because it is temperature data).