Charting Y-Values by Hour Blocks

kelman17

Hi all! This is a cross-post. Original: Charting Y-Values by Hour Blocks

Context
I’m a media planning intern at a small marketing agency. Basically I choose TV programs to place ads on. The campaign is all about getting people to call the toll free number in the commercial. I want to analyze past TV placements in a region to track a metric over the different hours of the day.

Sample Data
input01.png
I don't have privileges to include attachments. But here is my data.. there's not much. I pull the series of dayparts from existing data. I manually enter the start and end time columns to make it ready for charting on the x-axis.
The Imp/Calls is the metric that I want to track on the y-axis.

Desired Result
gantt chart.png
X-axis should be hour blocks.
The different tasks on the y-axis should be values on a scale. We are dealing with numbers in the 10 thousands.

Notes
The leading solution seems to be making a Gantt-style chart using a double-stacked Bar Chart. I would get that segmented look by formatting the bars to be invisible before the Start Time. I just can’t find a way to place my y-axis values on a scale.
From original: I'm cross-posting this to MrExcel. I've read the FAQ, and I respect the value of everyone's time. On the other hand, I want to get more reach for my question. I will be sure to check both posts periodically and update status!

Thanks in advance!

Excel Facts

How to create a cell-sized chart?
Tiny charts, called Sparklines, were added to Excel 2010. Look for Sparklines on the Insert tab.
I imagine someone will help you but here's something for you to think about.

You are sharing links to images hosted on a forum named excelforum, which requires registration and logging in before showing the image. So, a volunteer on mrexcel would have to create an account on that forum, log in, pull up your images, interpret them to understand what you want, and then provide you with a solution.