Results 1 to 8 of 8

Transfer data between two excel files

This is a discussion on Transfer data between two excel files within the Excel Questions forums, part of the Question Forums category; I have two excel files (zip file and ship file) that I want to combine into one. The zip file ...

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    5

    Default Transfer data between two excel files

    I have two excel files (zip file and ship file) that I want to combine into one. The zip file contains a list of zip codes and the sequence numbers associated with each zip code (zip code in one column, sequence number in another column). The ship file contains a list of sequence numbers and the address associated with each number.

    I would like to combine both files so that it shows a list that contains the zip code, sequence number and the address in three different columns.

    Any ideas??

    Thanks,
    SpeedyD
    [/list]

  2. #2
    MrExcel MVP Zack Barresse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    10,399

    Default

    how about a vlookup on the second workbook to obtain data, then copy/paste special values to *hardcode* it in there.

    then you can get rid of the first workbook altogether.

    that is if there's no duplicates, else anotherfunction may work better.

    edit: welcome to the board! (didn't notice it was your first post!)
    Regards,
    Zack Barresse
    Excel & Access blog
    All Excel Functions
    Training
    (If you would like comments in any code, please say so.)

  3. #3
    New Member TradBum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Transfer data between two excel files

    Welcome to the Board!

    If the sequence numbers are the same, you can use VLOOKUP.

    The help file gives a detailed explanation.

    If that won't do it, the use Colo's HTML Maker (you'll find the link at the bottom of the page) to post a representative shot of each sheet.

    Hope that helps,

    Smitty

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Transfer data between two excel files

    Thanks Zack! However, there are duplicates in there because some of the zip codes are linked to the same sequence numbers. Would the vlookup still work? If so, how would I go about performing that function. This is new to me so any help is appreciated.

    Thanks,
    D

  5. #5
    MrExcel MVP Zack Barresse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    10,399

    Default

    try posting some data as Smitty suggested w/ Colo's HTML Maker (link at bottom of this page \/ ), we could probably work something out
    Regards,
    Zack Barresse
    Excel & Access blog
    All Excel Functions
    Training
    (If you would like comments in any code, please say so.)

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Transfer data between two excel files

    I tried to download the 4.2 version and it doesn't seem to be working. Is there something else I need to do?

  7. #7
    MrExcel MVP Zack Barresse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Oregon, USA
    Posts
    10,399

    Default

    did you?...

    download to your pc?
    unzip to c:\windows\addins? *or other suitable folder*
    in excel, click Tools -> Addins -> Browse -> file (from folder)?

    if so, do you see a "Html" on your toolbar?

    if not, have you tried the earlier versions?

    how about:
    Tools -> Macros -> Security -> Trusted Sources (tab),
    is the trust add-ins checked?
    how about the access to vb projects?
    check those two.

    post back w/ problems.
    Regards,
    Zack Barresse
    Excel & Access blog
    All Excel Functions
    Training
    (If you would like comments in any code, please say so.)

  8. #8
    New Member TradBum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Transfer data between two excel files

    What's not working with it?

    If you just opened it from the zip file, you should now have an HTML Menu. If you put it in your Add-Ins folder, you'll need to activate it. Tool-->Add-Ins-->HTMLMaker 2.42.

    Once activated, goto HTML-->Select Used Range (You can adjust as necessary with Shift+Arrow). Follow the prompts and an image of your sheet will open in a new browser window. There's a button at the bottom to send the image to the clipboard. Click it. Then return to your Mr.Excel post and CTRL+V to paste the HTML code into the post.

    Smitty

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


DMCA.com