Trying to Copy and Paste multiple Ranges

DocAElstein

Banned user
Hello,
I’m trying to speed up a bit of regular file updating (that involves simply copying various bits of one workbook and pasting them in the same places / ranges in another workbook) using the VBA Range stuff.. My first attempt did not work. The second attempt did. I think I have an idea wot the problem is. However I am still learning VBA and would be grateful if a profi could tell me if I am on the right lines with my explanation of why the first code didn’t work and the second code did.,

I will demonstrate the problem as follows: I have opened 2 workbooks (Mappe1) and (Mappe2) and put some arbitrary numbers in the first few cells in the first sheet (Tabelle1) of Mappe1. For the sake of argument say I want to copy the ranges A1:C1 and A3:C3 from Mappe1 to the corresponding ranges in sheet1 (Tabelle1) of the second workbook Mappe2

This first attempt did not work

Code:
Sub CopyandPasteRangesFromMappe1ToMappe2_DontWork()  [COLOR=#008000]'_____________________________________________-
'    Copy and Paste Range A1 to C1[/COLOR]
Dim RangeA1toC1 As Range, RangeA3toB3 As Range

Workbooks("Mappe1.xlsx").Worksheets("Tabelle1").Activate
Set RangeA1toC1 = Range("A1:C1")
Set RangeA3toC3 = Range("A3:C3")
RangeA1toC1.Select
Application.CutCopyMode = False
Selection.Copy
Workbooks("Mappe2.xlsx").Worksheets("Tabelle1").Activate
RangeA1toC1.Select   [COLOR=#008000] ' Error comes here!!--"Can't do the select method of the range object"[/COLOR]
ActiveSheet.Paste
[COLOR=#008000]'
'    Copy and paste Range A3 to C3[/COLOR]
RangeA3toC3.Select
Selection.Copy
RangeA3toC3.Select
ActiveSheet.Paste
'
End Sub [COLOR=#008000]'CopyandPasteRangesFromMappe1ToMappe2_DontWork()'_______________________[/COLOR]

This second attempt did work

Code:
Sub CopyTotalRangesFromMappe1ToMappe2_Works()  [COLOR=#008000]'_____________________________________________-
'    Copy and Paste Range A1 to C1[/COLOR]