Having troubl with IF and Else IF

mgquedu

Hi All, I have the below code but I keep getting the following error message: "Complie Error, Must be first statement on the line"
I'm new to vba, can someone explain what I am doing wrong! Thank you.

Code:
Sub Chart_Background()

If Cells(4, 4).Value > 0.8 Then
    ActiveSheet.ChartObjects("Chart 1").Activate
        With ActiveSheet.Shapes("Chart 1").Fill
            .Visible = msoTrue
            .ForeColor.RGB = RGB(255, 0, 0)
            .ForeColor.TintAndShade = 0
            .ForeColor.Brightness = 0
            .Transparency = 0
            .Solid

Else If Cells(4, 4) > 0.5 Then
            .Visible = msoTrue
            .ForeColor.RGB = RGB(255, 255, 0)
            .Transparency = 0
            .Solid
       Else
            .Visible = msoTrue
            .ForeColor.RGB = RGB(0, 255, 0)
            .Transparency = 0
            .Solid
            End With
    End If
End Sub
[CODE]

Excel Facts

Why are there 1,048,576 rows in Excel?
The Excel team increased the size of the grid in 2007. There are 2^20 rows and 2^14 columns for a total of 17 billion cells.
Thanks! I figured it out, I actually did three seperate If's and it works. Do you know how to make the code update automatically refresh when the value it's looking at changes?

Upvote 0
How does it change? manual entry by hand? Or is it a formula?

And is it just that one cell, or do you want to expand it to look at many cells in a particular range?

Upvote 0
Wot about this