Calculating Vacation and sick leave

New2excel

Hello Excel gurus! :biggrin:

I am new to Excel, but I can do simple functions and macros. I have been asked by my boss to create a simple spreadsheet that will calculate Vacation time and sick leave time as QuickBooks has been giving them trouble. I have searched the message boards but have not found what I need to do this. Or I have not understood how it is done. Any help will be greatly appreaciated.

Vacation is calculated by "date hired" anniversary dates:
First anniversary = 40 hours vacation time (automatic update on first anniversary date needed)
Second anniversary and every anniversary date thereafter = 80 hours vacation time (automatic update on each anniversary date needed)

This is the closest I can come to understanding the code to do this.
I'm not sure I am close to the right track :confused:
First somehow count the anniversary dates in D column then something like =IF(D6<1,D6,0)(D6=1,D6*40)(D6>1,D6*80) ???

Sick leave is calculated by number of pay periods times .92 hours
Pay periods are Thursday through Wednesday.
If employee starts in the middle of the pay period use previous Thursday as beginning first pay period
Update pay periods automatically by entering pay period end date in B2 or by using the TODAY() function
===========================
Here are the column headings I think I need after the entered "Pay Period End Date:" or use of the =Today() function.

Column Headings:
A) Employee Name:
B) Date Hired:
C) Number of Pay periods Worked:
D) Vacation Hours Accrued:
E) Sick Leave Hours Accrued:
F) Vacation Hours Used:
G) Sick Leave Hours Used:
H) Vacation Hours Balance:
I) Sick Leave Hours Balance:

I hope I have explained myself clearly......

P.S. Is there a good beginners book you would recommend?
Thanks again, for any help you can offer.

Excel Facts

Formula for Yesterday
Name Manager, New Name. Yesterday =TODAY()-1. OK. Then, use =YESTERDAY in any cell. Tomorrow could be =TODAY()+1.